tw fb

County Owned Dams

Land & Water Conservation


Adams County owns and operates nine dams and therefore is responsible for the associated maintenance and regulation.  Each specific dam is responsible for maintaining specified water levels set by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources (WDNR).  These levels are referred to as the minimum and maximum operational levels.  The goal is to maintain the water levels between the minimum and maximum at a “normal” level.  However, during uncontrolled weather events such as drought or severe rainfall, these levels will deviate beyond the operational levels for shortened periods of time.  Depending on the size of the dam and associated impoundment, these fluctuations may range greatly based on the severity of the weather event.

Aerial Photos of County-Owned Dams

  Adams County Owned Dams
 Arrowhead  Camelot (Upper & Lower)
 Easton  Fawn  McGinnis
 Peppermill  Sherwood